What’s done is done.

by Ave

This is the time of the year for looking back, perhaps even looking back at things and (re)learning some lessons, as well as evaluating what went well, what didn’t quite go as planned.

I finally made it to New York. Yes, tears were shed.

I finally made it to New York. Yes, tears were shed. This photo is taken at 450 Lexington Ave.

My year has been turbulent, literally and metaphorically. Where do I start? I guess the year’s half time would be an appropriate, because that was the time my life took a new turn when I changed jobs. It would be an understatement to say I was scared. I was terrified. I became a civil servant. I switched sides completely – from journalism to government communications. With a thousand doubts in mind, which I’m not even going to spell out here, because in retrospect they are beyond silly, I decided to do something that proved to be one of the best decisions of my life this far.

I remember someone telling me that the real fun starts when things get scary – it means you’ve got something to lose. It means we’re dealing with things that really matter. I’m happy I didn’t need to make any real sacrifices, and it definitely wasn’t a change to the Dark Side, as is often said about moving from journalism to PR/communications.

My five and a half months at Stenbock House have flown past at incredible speed. I have also flown a lot during that time (hence the literal turbulence). I spent half of December abroad (touched the surface of nine foreign countries), and suffered the worst jetlag of my life. But during that time I also pushed my photography skills and speed to a completely new level, and felt an incredible creative flow, which I am so grateful for. I do miss my colleagues at Eesti Päevaleht and Delfi, they are real sweethearts, but my new team is equally inspiring – great to learn from and work with.

When I think back at the past year, I’m overcome with an immeasurable sense of gratitude. I keep realising over and over again, that I am surrounded by the most amazing and supporting people, who’ve unnoticeably helped and pushed me towards the things I later realise I’ve always waited for. The new people who’ve crossed my path, are gems. My older friends, they are life’s essentials. Without my safety net, I’d be going nowhere fast.

The turbulence (now speaking about the metaphorical one) continues on a personal level. I have moved twice this year, had and not had a cat, and experienced (read: created) some really messed up affairs, and burned my fingers. But at the same time, the turbulence has also contributed to some unforgettable experiences and episodes. Some which cannot bear the light of the day, some which need to be laughed at loud. A whole lot of yolo. Most of the time, a terrible idea, but my god, it’s fun (until it’s not, but even then, hey, life goes on).

Thanks for the joyride, 2014. You’ve changed my life forever. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

And thank you, honeybunnies, for being part of the ride.

Some more shareworthy moments through a lens, for your viewing pleasure. Let these photos speak for themselves, I’m out of words, out of wit.

San Francisco is real pretty. Even when it's a bit foggy. View from Twin Peaks summit.

San Francisco is real pretty. Even when it’s a bit foggy. View from Twin Peaks summit.

Golden Gate Bridge traffic and stuff. I happen to absolutely love bridges and other suspended structures.

Golden Gate Bridge traffic and stuff. I happen to absolutely love bridges and other suspended structures.

Find the little blue bird in the canopy. Taken right next to Stanford University Library.

Find the little blue bird in the canopy. Taken right next to Stanford University Library.

I will offer my undivided and unconditional love to the person who gets me one of these Google bikes. Photo taken at Googleplex / Palo Alto.

I will offer my undivided and unconditional love to the person who gets me one of these Google bikes. Photo taken at Googleplex / Palo Alto.

View from the White House.

View from the White House.

View from the Capitol.

View from the Capitol.

Speaker John Boehner at his office. (Possibly the best photo I've taken this far.)

Speaker John Boehner at his office. (Possibly the best photo I’ve taken this far.)

Not too bad for an office view, right? (At US Congress, Speaker Boehner's balcony.)

Not too bad for an office view, right? (At US Congress, Speaker Boehner’s balcony.)

